Radiator ran dry due to faulty service - Mazda Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 10-22-2016, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
Mazda Newbie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Radiator ran dry due to faulty service

Based on the recommendation of my dealership's service department I replaced my 2000 Miata radiator due to a small crack in the neck of the radiator. (Quick history - my car was purchased new, cared for like a baby and has only been driven 64,000 miles in 16 years). I picked up the car yesterday and drove it home which is about 25 minutes away. As I approached my home I noticed the engine sounded "louder" than normal. I'm not a mechanic but it sounded like valves "ticking". As soon as I pulled in the driveway and slowed the car to a stop the engine began "shuddering". I quickly turned off the ignition. After 5 minutes or so I tried to start the car and the engine would fire for second or two then die.

I opened the hood and noticed that the coolant reservoir was empty. Then I carefully removed the radiator cap and saw no visiible coolant in the radiator nor was there any built up pressure from removing the cap. I checked the ground below the radiator and there was no coolant present. I called the dealership reported these problems and asked them to send a wrecker to pick up the car because it appeared their service tech had not refilled my radiator with coolant. The dealership later reported that a radiator hose clamp had failed causing my car to lose coolant. They replaced the clamp and returned my car.