Aux input / media button - Mazda Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-21-2007, 12:00 AM Thread Starter
Mazda Newbie

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey I'm new to the Mazda world in terms of the car and website anyways I know there is an aux input jack in the armrest and I know its a minijack to minijack but I tried this and then hit the media button and nothing happened if anyone knows how to make this jack work or what I have to do I would love your help seems useless to have the jack but not be able to use is thanks for your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 02-23-2007, 04:42 PM

I'm going to guess that you have sirius hooked up to your stereo, yes? The ACI (Auxiliary Console Input) uses the same port on the back of the HU as the OEM: sirius/phatbox/ipod adapter, so if you have one of those then the ACI is no longer plugged in. If you do have sirius you're probably annoyed at your dealer now because they didn't tell you you'd lose the input feature. Well here's the thing..... they probably didn't know you would. This is the annoying thing about dealers knowing less about the features of the cars they're selling than the people who own them.

Mazda did come out with a multiport switchbox to address this problem. It allows you to plug the ACI in, and one of the other methods that use that port (one of the plugs only works with the ACI, so there's no sirius + phatbox. ). Once everything's plugged in you switch functions just like you normally would (SAT for sirius, MEDIA for ACI). You would need P/N TD1379CFZ, and it runs about $113. Several people have gotten Mazda to cover the price of the switchbox just on the basis of the ACI being a selling point and them not being made aware that another expensive system (i.e.- the sirius) they purchased made it unusable.